AfricanBioServices holds first consortium meeting in Mugumu, Serengeti

The AfricanBioServices project held its first stakeholders’meeting involving all the partner institutions in Mugumu, Serengeti, Tanzania on 6-10 December 2015. A total of 83 participants (Annex 1) from all the 13 participating institutions attended the meeting. This provided a good opportunity for the partners to review activities that had been implemented since the project started and work plans for the next period. From these presentations, partners were asked to refine their work plans based on lessons learned from previous projects. It was agreed that this would enable the project to avoid duplicating completed work.

consortium-meeting-group-1

Group photo at the consortium meeting. Photo: Frode Fossøy/NINA

Each work package convened break-out meetings to review their work plans in more detail and identify teams and contact persons that would be responsible for their tasks. These meetings identified communication and internal coordination as being key challenges that had slowed progress. Teams therefore made plans for periodic meetings for instance through teleconferences where they could share progress reports and review their work plans. Plate 2 shows the meeting convened by Work Package 1 as an example.

consortium-meeting-group-2

Side meeting convened by Work Package 1. Photo: Bernard Bett/ILRI

One of the most interesting sessions of the meeting was a general discussion forum between the consortium members and a number of stakeholders that had been invited to participate the meeting.
These stakeholders included:

•  Mr. Seth Ayo Manager, Maswa Game Reserve, Tanzania
•  Mr. Dominant Sawe Representing Bunda District Executive Director, Tanzania
•  Mr. James Sindiyo Narok Wildlife Forum, Kenya
•  Mr. Elibariki Bajuta District Game Officer, Ngorongoro, representing the District Executive Director, Tanzania
•  Mr. Dickson Mrema Assistant Project Manager Ikorongo- Grumeti Game Reserve, Tanzania
•  Mr. Willy Loigero Chief Officer Narok County Government, Kenya
•  Mr. Moses Ole Kuyioni Chief Park Warden Maasai Mara Game Reserve, Kenya
•  Mr. William Mwakilema Chief Park Warden, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
•  Mr. Rogastian Msafiri Chief Human Resources and Administration Officer, TAWIRI

Discussions held were structured under three topics: (i) clarifying the objectives and design of the project, (ii) identifying ways of disseminating the project outputs more effectively, and (iii) defining the role of the project Management Policy. This forum allowed the stakeholders to learn more about the project as they sought clarifications on several issues including criteria that were used for selecting the study sites and how the project would address livestock movement. The forum also identified some of the ways of disseminating the project outputs including involvement of schools, religious organizations, use of exchange visits, and supporting income generating activities especially those implemented by women groups.

The general discussion session helped to define some of the roles of Management Policy platform. Its scope was defined to include the identification of challenges that have compromised successful implementation of the existing policies on sustainable use of resources within the study area, and prioritising those that could be addressed by the project. An interesting example on the utilization of revenues from some of the Mara conservancies was discussed. The project learned that part of the revenues generated from the conservancies was being used to purchase more livestock, and as the livestock population increased, the buffer zones were being encroached upon for livestock grazing. This was expected to introduce more pressure on the natural resources that these conservancies sought to protect. More work will be done to understand these dynamics from a multidisciplinary perspective.

The last session was a General Assembly (GA) convened on the last day of the meeting to review all the recommendations made throughout the meeting. The GA proposed that each institution needed to develop more detailed descriptions of the activities they intended to do under each work package. These will include setting out specific research questions, hypotheses, expected outcomes and time lines. The GA also recommended that causal links connecting the research questions and hypotheses within and across the work packages needed to be described clearly.

The next partners meeting will be held in Kenya in Narok County in February 2017.

Bernard Bett, ILRI

Annex 1: Participants of the AfricanBioServices project’s stakeholders meeting held at the Giraffe hotel, Mugumu on 6-10 December, 2015

S/N

Name

Title

Institution

Email

1 Ahmed Mustafa Driver ILRI a.mustafamaalim@cgiar.org
2 Ally Nkwabi Researcher TAWIRI ally.nkwabi@tawiri.or.tz
3 Angela Mwakatobe Researcher TAWIRI a_mwakatobe_99@yahoo.com
4 Bård G. Stokke Researcher NTNU bard.g.stokke@ntnu.no
5 Benson S. Kamaamia Driver Narok Wildlife Forum
6 Bente Graae Professor NTNU bente.j.graae@ntnu.no
7 Bernard Bett Scientist ILRI b.bett@cgiar.org
8 Bukombe John Researcher TAWIRI johnbukombe@googlemail.com
9 Daniel Mutiso Mr ILRI danielmutiso8@gmail.com
10 Dennis Rentsch Project Leader FZS dennis.rentsch@fzs.org
11 Devolent Mtui Researcher TAWIRI deovolentem@gmail.com
12 Dickson J. Mrema SGW Ikorongo-Grumeti dx88tz@yahoo.com
13 Dominant Sawe For District Executive Director-Bunda Bunda District Council doisanttz@gmail.com
14 Edward P.M. Ojema Cartographer DRSRS edwardmojema@yahoo.com
15 Eivin Røskaft Professor NTNU eivin.roskaft@ntnu.no
16 Elibariki Bajuta Wildlife Officer Ngorongoro District Council elibajuta@gmail.com
17 Emilian Mayemba Field assistant Grongen mayembae15@gmail.com
18 Emillian Kihwele Ecologist TANAPA-SENAPA kihwele@gmail.com
19 Erick P. Urio Driver TAWIRI
20 Ernest E. Mjingo Researcher TAWIRI eblate.ernest@gmail.com
21 Evalyn Sevuri Planning Officer UDOM evesaidi@yahoo.com
22 Flora Fabian Professor UDOM proffabian29@gmail.com
23 Flora Magige Senior Lecturer UDSM magige@udsm.ac.tz
24 Francis Wanyoike Mr ILRI f.wanyoike@cgiar.org
25 Frank Kaswamila Mr Maswa Game Reserve
26 Fredrick Anase Accountant UDSM anasefredrick@yahoo.com
27 Frode Fossøy Researcher NTNU frode.fossoy@ntnu.no
28 Gabriel L. Mjema Accountant UDOM leason_84@yahoo.com
29 Gerald Mafuru GIS Officer SENAPA gerald.mafuru@tanzaniaparks.com
30 Gine R. Skjærvø Researcher NTNU gine.skjarvo@bio.ntnu.no
31 Gordon Ojwang Scientist DRSRS gordonojwang@gmail.com
32 Grant Hopcraft Researcher Fellow University, Glasgow grant.hopcraft@glasgow.ac.uk
33 Grayson G. Mwakalebe Researcher TAWIRI gmwakalebe@yahoo.com
34 Gundula Bartzke Researcher Univ. of Hohenheim gundula.bartzke@uni-hohenheim.de
35 Hadia Hajji Office Management Secretary TAWIRI hadiahaji25@gmail.com
36 Hamza Kija Researcher TAWIRI hamza01kija@yahoo.com
37 Han Olff Professor Univ. Groningen h.olff@rug.nl
38 Harold Basinda Chief Accountant TAWIRI harold.basinda@tawiri.or.tz
39 Idd I. Masarange Driver SENAPA
40 Inger de Jonge Researcher Univ. Groningen i.k.de.jonge@rug.nl
41 Itael S. Nassary Accountant TAWIRI inassary5@gmail.com
42 Jafari R. Kideghesho Professor SUA kideghesho@yahoo.com
43 James Odeck Professor NTNU james.odeck@ntnu.no
44 James S. Sindiyo Member Narok Wildlife Forum sindiyojames@yahoo.com
45 James Speed Scientist NTNU james.speed@ntnu.no
46 Janemary Ntalwila Researcher TAWIRI jntalwila@yahoo.com
47 Joke Bakker Researcher Univ. Groningen joke-bakker@rug.nl
48 Joseph M. Mukeka GIS Modeller KWS Jmukeka@kws.go.ke
49 Joseph O. Ogutu Statistician UHOH jogutu2007@gmail.com
50 Julius Keyyu Researcher TAWIRI julius.keyyu@gmail.com
51 Julius W. Nyahongo Professor UDOM nyhwjulius@yahoo.co.uk
52 Juma Mkwizu Driver TAWIRI
53 Kjetil Bevanger Scientific Advisor NINA kjetilbevanger@nina.no
54 Lucy Njino Principal Geoinformational Officer DRSRS lnjino@gmail.com
55 Machoke Mwita Researcher TAWIRI machoke@gmail.com
56 Majaliwa N. Ndelani Game warden Ikorongo-Grumeti
57 Maria Mngulwi Asst. Lecturer SUA mariamngulwi@suanet.ac.tz
58 Martin R. Nielsen Researcher IFRO/KU mrni@ifro.ku.dk
59 Maulid Pemba Driver NDC-Loliondo maulidkakai@yahoo.com
60 Merceline A. Ojwala Technical Officer DRSRS maselineawuor@gmail.com
61 Michiel Veldhuis Researcher Univ. of Groningen m.p.veldhuis@rug.nl
62 Moses P. Kuyioni Chief Park Warden Narok County Government mpkuyioni@yahoo.com
63 Norman Owena Smith Professor Wits University rman.owen-smith@wits.ac.za
64 Onesmo Mwakabejela Driver TAWIRI
65 Ophery O. Ilomo Chief Lab. Scientist UDSM ilomo67@gmail.com
66 Othman C. Othman Professor UDSM o_chande@yahoo.co.uk
67 Pius Y. Kavana Researcher TAWIRI pykavana@gmail.com
68 Raphael Katte Driver DC-Mugumu
69 Richard D. Lyamuya Research Officer TAWIRI lyamuyarichard2004@yahoo.com
70 Richard Ndaskoi Driver TAWIRI
71 Robert Fyumagwa Director-SWRC TAWIRI robert.fyumagwa@gmail.com
72 Roel May Researcher NINA roel.may@nina.no
73 Rogastian Msafiri Cheif Human Resource and Administartion Officer TAWIRI rogastian@yahoo.com
74 Sabyasachi Mukhopadhyay Researcher Univ. Hohenheim sabstat123@gmail.com
75 Sabyasachi Mukhopadhyay Manager Wildlife Division (Maswa G. Reserve) sethayo@yahoo.com
76 Shombe Hassan Professor SUA hassanshombe@yahoo.co.uk
77 Silvia Alonso Researcher ILRI s.alonso@cgiar.org
78 Sophia Z. Constantine Secretary-SWRC TAWIRI sophiaconstantine@yahoo.com
79 Stuart W. Smith Researcher NTNU stuart.smith@ntnu.no
80 Vedasto Ndibalema Asst. Professor SUA ndibalema@suanet.ac.tz
81 Victor Nzagi Driver DC-Bunda
82 William S. Mwakilema Chief Park Warden SENAPA william.mwakilema@tanzaniaparks.com
83 Willy Loigero Chief Officer Tourism and Wildlife Narok County Government willyloigero@gmail.com
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+